Selected all your options? Now click here >>
Quick contact

Quick contact

Contact us Quote Newsletter subscribe

Major changes introduced to MOT test

The way that the MOT test works in England, Scotland and Wales changed last month. The changes affect cars, vans, motorcycles and other light passenger vehicles. First of all, defects are now categorised differently. The category the MOT tester gives each item will depend on the type of problem and how serious it is:

•Dangerous – direct and immediate risk to road safety or has a serious impact on the environment, do not drive the vehicle until it’s been repaired (fail).
•Major – may affect the vehicle’s safety, put other road users at risk or have an impact on the environment, repair it immediately (fail).
•Minor – no significant effect on the safety of the vehicle or impact on the environment, repair as soon as possible (pass).
•Advisory – could become more serious in the future, monitor and repair if necessary (pass).
•Pass – meets the minimum legal standard (pass).

There are also stricter limits for emissions from diesel cars with a diesel particulate filter. Vehicles will get a major fault if the MOT tester can see smoke of any colour coming from the exhaust or finds evidence that the DPF has been tampered with.
New items now tested during the MOT include checking if tyres are obviously underinflated, brake fluid has been contaminated, fluid leaks pose an environmental risk, brake pad warning lights and if brake pads or discs are missing, reversing lights on vehicles first used from 1 September 2009, headlight washers on vehicles first used from 1 September 2009 (if they have them), and daytime running lights on vehicles first used from 1 March 2018 (most of these vehicles will have their first MOT in 2021 when they’re three years old).
The design of the MOT certificate has changed so that any defects according to the new categories are clear and easy to understand.
Finally, cars, vans, motorcycles and other light passenger vehicles won’t need an MOT from the 40th anniversary of when they were registered or manufactured, provided they have not been substantially changed. Previously, only vehicles first built before 1960 were exempt.
“It is important everyone quickly gets to grips with the changes to the MOT, and that test centres and garages do a good job of explaining the new fault categories so motorists understand correctly the severity of faults with their vehicles,” the RAC’s Simon Williams said. “We also hope that testers everywhere interpret and apply the new rules fairly and consistently.
“Drivers who have a diesel vehicle with a DPF should make sure it is regularly given a good run at motorway or dual carriageway speeds so the filter is automatically cleared of any clogged up soot. This is very important if the vehicle is predominantly used for short journeys on local roads.”

Share this article Email this pagePost this page to facebookTweet this pageGoogle+ this pagePost this page to LinkedinPin page

Posted on 4th June 2018 at 4:29 PM

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Close this message.